Window Inspection Service

The Tenancy Management team of Centaline Surveyors has launched a window inspection service to conduct window inspections and provide reports for customers. Whether you need to complete the mandatory window inspection plan, or the window components are damaged and leaking, we can provide the owner within the time limit. Complete the window inspection procedure.

Window inspection service includes:

1. check whether the glass panels are torn or cracked;


2. check whether the window frame is deformed, unstable and difficult to open and close;


3. check whether the window hinges are deformed or missing, and whether there is serious rust;


4. check whether the rivets and screws are loose or missing, and whether there is gray-white powder or rust.

驗窗服務 中原測量師行租務管理.jpg

What is Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme?

Under the Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme (MWIS), owners of buildings aged 10 years or above (except domestic buildings not exceeding 3 storeys) and served with statutory notices are required to appoint a Qualified Person (QP) to carry out the prescribed inspection and supervise the prescribed repair works found necessary of all windows of the building.Where a prescribed repair is required, the owners concerned must appoint a registered contractor to carry out the prescribed repair under the supervision of a QP.

Why choosing my property for window inspection?

Target buildings are selected each year for implementation of MWIS. A selection panel comprising representatives from professional institutions, non-government organisations, property management professionals, District Councils and relevant Government departments is established to render advice to the BD for the selection of target buildings for MWIS. Higher priority may be given to those buildings with windows in a generally defective or dilapidated state, posing relatively higher potential risk to the public.

When do I need a window inspection after receiving the window inspection notice?

If you receive a window inspection notice issued by the Buildings Department, you must pay attention to the window inspection period. For the windows of individual units, a qualified person needs to be appointed within 6 months from the date of notification to complete the prescribed inspection and the prescribed repair. As for windows in common parts of buildings, including glass shutters and windows of common staircases, the prescribed inspections and prescribed repairs are required to be completed within 9 months from the date of notification.

What are the consequences of not complying with the mandatory window inspection requirements?

Owners/owners corporations that fail to comply with the statutory notice of mandatory window inspection may be prosecuted. The Buildings Department may also arrange for its appointed consultants and contractors to carry out the required inspection and repair works, and then recover the inspection and repair work fees and supervision fees from the owner/OC, and charge not more than 20% of the relevant fees surcharge.

Who is Qualified for Window Inspection?

Under the Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme, a competent person appointed to carry out prescribed inspections of windows or supervise prescribed repairs must be persons whose names are then on any of the following registers maintained by the Building Authority:

 

  1. Authorized Person;

  2. Registered Structural Engineer;

  3. Registered inspectors;

  4. Registered general building contractor;

  5. Registered minor works contractor for the class, type and item of minor works related to windows.

Tenancy Management Service

Tel: (852) 2139-6698

Fax: (852) 3971-0820

tenancy@mail.centanet.com

驗窗服務

中原測量師行租務管理團隊推出驗窗服務,為客戶進行窗戶檢查及提供報告,不論你是需要完成強制驗窗計劃,或是窗戶構件損壞出現滲漏情况,我們都可以為業主在限期內完成驗窗程序。

驗窗服務包含的內容:

1. 玻璃嵌板是否有破爛或破裂;
 

2. 窗框是否有變形或難以開啟及關閉;

3. 窗鉸是否有變形、缺漏或嚴重生鏽;

4. 鉚釘及螺絲是否變鬆或缺漏,有否呈現灰白色粉狀物或鐵鏽。

驗窗服務 中原測量師行租務管理.jpg

甚麼是強制驗窗?

政府近年一直推動強制驗窗計劃,規定樓齡達10年或以上的私人樓宇(不高於3層的住用樓宇除外)的業主,如接獲屋宇署送達法定通知,須委任一名合資格人士就樓宇的所有窗戶進行訂明檢驗,並負責監督檢驗後認為需要進行的訂明修葺工程。如需進行訂明修葺,有關業主須委任一名註冊承建商,在一名合資格人士的監督下進行所需的訂明修葺。

為何我的樓宇物業會被揀選要求驗窗?

屋宇署的「選取目標樓宇諮詢委員會」,每年均會揀選目標樓宇要求驗窗。委員會考慮窗戶的狀況、維修記錄及窗戶失修舉報記錄,來訂定驗窗的先後次序。如果樓宇中多個單位均出現窗戶失修狀況,對公眾構成較高潛在風險,便會較易被選中成目標樓宇。

收到驗窗通知後幾時需要驗窗?

如果你收到屋宇署發出的驗窗通知,就必須注意驗窗限期。個別單位的窗戶,需要在通知日期起計6個月內委任合資格人士,完成訂明檢驗及訂明修葺。至於大廈公用部份的窗戶,包括玻璃百葉窗及公用樓梯的窗戶,則需要在通知日期起計9個月內完成訂明檢驗及訂明修葺。要注意的地方有兩點,一是業主需在限期內完成修葺,而不是只安排檢驗。第二,有關大廈公用部份窗戶,不論該大廈是否擁有業主立案法團,需均在限期內完成驗窗程序。

不遵從強制驗窗要求會有甚麼後果?

沒有遵行強制驗窗法定通知的業主/業主立案法團,可能會被檢控。屋宇署亦可能會安排其委任的顧問公司及承建商,進行所需的檢驗和修葺工程,然後向業主/法團追討檢驗及修葺工程的費用和監督費,以及徵收不超過有關費用20%的附加費。

誰是合資格驗窗人士?

在強制驗窗計劃下,獲委任進行窗戶的訂明檢驗或監督訂明修葺的合資格人士,須是當時名列於建築事務監督所備存的下列任何名冊內的人士︰
 

  1. 認可人士;
     

  2. 註冊結構工程師;
     

  3. 註冊檢驗人員;
     

  4. 註冊一般建築承建商;
     

  5. 關乎窗戶的小型工程級別、類型及項目的註冊小型工程承建商。